Workplace Bullies

Ok, so we have all seen them, right?  Every office has that a-hole that causes a mass exodus from the break room… people ducking into random cubicles… pretending to be on the phone… you get the drift.  It’s the office bully.  I used to work for a woman lovingly referred to as Darth Vader… behind her back, of course!  You know… the one so mean and horrible around that one look from them has you gasping for breath and praying for death.  Maybe I am being melodramatic, but my guess is that SOMEONE out there knows what I am talking about…

If you don’t – It’s probably you.  Starting noticing the dust trails people are laying when they walk away from you.

I am currently working on another article for publication about these people and need some stories, other than my own horrible experiences with a myriad of office bullies.  So please, please, please with a cherry on top – Leave me some horrifying stories via comments.  The best story just might win a prize!!  [Eyebrow waggle]

Chime in people – this is your opportunity to tell the world about your own personal Darth Vader experience!  You don’t have to give names… unless you want to 😉

darth-vader-face1

5 Responses to “Workplace Bullies”

  1. Heather Price Says:

    I will leave an upsetting blog post I posted about 2 years ago. Bully stories, and my reaction to her:

    I work with a bitch.

    Sage was always the type of lady that annoys you to death. She likes to talk politics, but doesn’t know what she believes. She has ‘altered’ facts in her head (like downtown Houston was flooded 120 ft deep during the last hurricane) She is desperately lonely, therefore she consistently tried to befriend everyone she meets. The problem is, her underlying bitch won’t let her maintain friendships. She is passive aggressive (e.g. ‘my daughter has hair like yours all frizzy, and doesn’t hold at all) or blatantly rude (e.g. ‘Cindy in accounting did me a favor and asked me for candy in return, but she really needs slim fast I should just send that over’).

    Sage wants you to like her, she wants desperately to have friends… she is even really pretty crazy. Sage will try and make up for her lack of routine skill at her job by claiming it is someone else’s responsibility.

    Because I was saddened by her loneliness (she is a widow, and friendless) I would always try and be nice to her. I would bring her baskets and things I knew she collected. I would involve her in things, when no one else cared to involve her.

    Well, she has always gotten the week between Christmas and New Years off. I was talking about going home for the holidays, and she told me to hurry up and get my vacation slip in (because only 2 are allowed at the same time). I told her Sandra already had the week off, but I just wanted the day after Christmas. I asked her if it would be ok if I took that day off and she could have the rest of the week. She said OK. Then when I went to turn in my vacation slip (later the day we had that conversation) she had written down my days on the board and turned hers in too!

    Because I felt it was the right thing to do, I talked to her about my days off. She acted all ‘Art of War’ on me and took it to her advantage to ask for the time off mere hours before I did.

    Well if she wants war she has it. She just lost the last supporter she had in this office. She just lost her IT support, her annoying story listener, her sympathetic ear. I am not going to be pushed over by her. It’s O-V-E-R. All she had to do was say that she wanted the time off or was going to ask for it. I would have understood… besides every day that Sage is on vacation is like Christmas for the whole office.

    — Heather

  2. When I worked for a Very Large Corporation I shared a cube with another girl. We actually had the largest cube and it opened up into one of the main aisles. Which totally sucked. Our cube became the place where people would always stop and chat, because that is totally not annoying when you are in the middle of a phone call or trying to concentrate. So to us almost everyone in the office was an a-hole. Anyway, there were two guys that had cubes that backed up to ours. And there were fairly quite. But every single day some woman, who I never saw (I don’t even know what her name was…is…whatever) would visit them. And she laughed like a strangled hyena. Loudly. I would hear her voice as she said good morning to people as she approached the cubes of these guys. My cube mate would say, “here we go!” and we would share a knowing look. Then it would start. Constant jokes that weren’t funny and her annoying laughter. What we enjoyed was the convos after she would leave their cubes. Those guys talked so much smack about her and how they wished they didn’t have “dead-end” cubes.

    Ok, maybe that wasn’t funny.

    I now work for a Very Small Company. And we have one completely annoying woman working there. Everyone tries to avoid her as best they can, but it is totally impossible. She is one of those people that doesn’t know how to shut up. And everything she talks about is totally uncomfortable, like the day she decided to explain how once she hit menopause her pubes straightened out and turned gray. EW, gross mental image. I need ear bleach to deal with her. Oh, and she is a liar. Like, a liar in the fact that every time she starts telling a story all I can hear in my head is Henry Rollins singing “‘Cause I’m a liar! Yeah! I’m a liar!”. Example: She claims to have been married to a multi-millionaire that died two years ago (you know, right before she started working for the company) and that he left her all of his money and his three estates spread over 3 different countries. Yet she complains about not having enough money to pay her rent on her one bedroom apartment. YET she claims to have gone out and bought a yacht that she will take everyone on as soon as she is done having it remodeled to her liking (because she didn’t like the interior of it). And she kept saying she was going to bring in pictures, yet whenever we ask she says she hasn’t gotten the pictures developed yet.

    Gah! I could go on and on….

  3. eh.. really like it.

  4. This jock type rides her bike 30 percent of the time! Now its bike -to-work week and she’s got all her garb on. Comes up quietly and quickly behind me locking up my bike and

    !!!skiiiiiddddd!!! just misses me. HA HA HA HA HA HA

    Suck on a lightsaber darth

  5. butterflyliz32 Says:

    I will fully admit that I snorted out loud when I read this comment. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

